Skip to content

Queensland Floods

January 13, 2011

I have been moved to tears about the recent floods in Queensland (Qld). This is our new home state and although I haven’t been here long it already feels like home. I suppose there is nothing like a tragedy to really bring home the feeling that we are part of this great community and proud to call it home.

I want to blog about what has happened but I need to give it some time. I am still processing the horrible images I have seen on the TV. Thank God our suburb has been ok and we and our neighbours have all been safe and I have not witnessed anything in person. I have such immense feelings of sadness and hopelessness. I sit and don’t really know what to do and even sometimes what to feel. I can’t even imagine those people who went through the flash flooding and what they witnessed. Such tragedy . . .

So I will blog but I’m not sure when and I am just trying to keep busy and distracted for now . . . One thing that I will say to everyone is tell your loved ones how much they mean to you, tell them you love them, hold your loved ones each day, never have a cross word with them – it’s just not worth it – one day you might wish they were there to fight with if they were gone forever but in the meantime appreciate them and put all pettiness and fighting aside. Remember each day what treasures we have and live a grateful life . . .

Bless you all . . . . . .

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

